CityAge Participants

CityAge News

Why You Need To Be There

  • There’s a new kind of city in the making.

    That’s why North America's leading city builders —innovative leaders in business, politics, academe and culture — are coming to Toronto to explore the new ideas, technologies and partnerships to build the 21st-Century city.

    More than half of the world’s population now lives in cities. By 2035, it will rise to 75 per cent. It means how we build, design, govern and work in our cities today will define our future for generations to come.

    It's the age of city building. Join us. 

    Join North America's Top City Builders in Toronto

  • We are living through the greatest wave of urbanization in history. Our cities — as epicenters for human and financial capital—are key to defining the century ahead. The decisions and partnerships we make today are critical to shaping this urban century.

    I invite you to take part in The Innovation City. Let’s make our cities powerful catalysts for innovation, economic growth and collaboration to build a sustainable future  on our soon-to-be nine-billion-person planet.

    Ilse Treurnicht

    CEO, MaRS Discovery District

CityAge Speakers

  • Guruduth Banavar
    Chief Technology Officer, Global Public Sector, IBM
  • Seth Pinsky
    President, NYCEDC
  • Jaana Remes
    Senior Fellow, McKinsey Global Institute
  • David Crombie ~ Event MC
    Former Mayor, City of Toronto
  • David Furneaux
    Managing Partner, Kodiak Venture Partners
  • Tom Middlebrook
    Lead, Sustainability and Urban Transit, MMM Group
  • Jorn Weisbrodt
    Artistic Director, Luminato
  • Bruce McCuaig
    President & CEO, Metrolinx
  • Philip Enquist
    Leader, Global City Design Practice, SOM
  • Karen Leibovici
    President, Federation of Canadian Municipalities
  • Anthony Lacavera
    Chairman and CEO, Globalive Communications
  • Steve Koonin
    Director, Centre for Urban Science and Progress
  • Ilse Treurnicht
    CEO, MaRS Discovery District
  • Stephen Mandel
    Mayor, City of Edmonton
  • Pat Horgan
    Vice President, Manufacturing, Development and Operations, IBM Canada
  • Joe Berridge
    Partner, Urban Strategies
  • Anne Golden
    President and CEO of The Conference Board of Canada
  • Gerald Butts
    President and CEO, WWF - Canada
  • Rahul K. Bhardwaj
    President & CEO, Toronto Community Foundation
  • Marcus Gee
    Columnist, Globe and Mail
  • James Cheng
    Architect, James KM Cheng Architects
  • Bob Rennie
    CEO, Rennie Marketing Systems
  • Gordon Campbell
    High Commissioner to the United Kingdom
  • Bill Hutchison
    Chair, i-Canada, Executive Director, Centre for Smart Cities Innovation
  • Brenda Halloran
    Mayor of Waterloo
  • Alan Broadbent
    Chairman, Maytree Foundation
  • John Cruickshank
    Publisher, Toronto Star
  • Kim Devooght
    Vice President, Public Sector, Cisco Systems Canada Ltd.
  • William Knapp
    Chief Operating Officer, car2go North America
  • John Sexton
    President, New York University
  • Nigel Jacob
    Office of New Urban Mechanics, City of Boston
  • Mitzie Hunter ~ Event MC
    Chief Executive Officer, Greater Toronto CivicAction Alliance
  • Dr. Arvind Gupta
    CEO & Scientific Director, Mitacs Inc.
  • Janice Diner
    CEO Horizon Studios | CATALYSTA
  • David Naylor
    President, University of Toronto
  • John Campbell
    CEO, Waterfront Toronto
  • Pierre Gerlier-Forest
    President, Trudeau Foundation
  • Jeff Lehman
    Mayor of Barrie
  • Jayson Myers
    CEO, Canadian Manufacturers & Exporters
  • Renato Discenza
    President and CEO of Invest Toronto
  • Leila Boujnane
    CEO, TinEye
  • Lorne Braithwaite
    CEO, Build Toronto
  • Tom Corr
    President and CEO, Ontario Centres of Excellence
  • Peter Donolo
    SVP, Communications and Public Relations, Pan Am Games
  • Carl Zehr
    Mayor of Kitchener
  • Jennifer Keesmaat
    Founding Principal, DIALOG
  • Howard Kerbel
    Vice President Sales, Marketing, and New Business Development TIFF
  • Marko Kroenke
    Director of Research & Development, Bombardier
  • Loudon Owen
    Partner, McLean Watson Capital
  • Mark MacLeod
    Partner, Real Ventures
  • Mansell Nelson
    Vice President, M2M. Rogers Wireless
  • Sandra Pupatello
    Director of Business Development and Global Markets, PwC
  • Tom Rand
    Managing Director, MaRS Cleantech Fund
  • Anne Sado
    President, George Brown College
  • Michael Thompson
    Chair, Toronto’s Economic Development and Culture Committee
  • John Tory
    Chair, Toronto Civic Action Alliance
  • Hilary Holden
    Associate Principal, Transportation Consulting Leader

Follow The Innovation City on Twitter @cityage

  • @cityage hasn't tweeted yet.